[ Blog ] Internet Criticism

keep-calm-and-do-not-rage-quit-2

 

I suppose this was bound to happen – when I started writing seriously for Gaming Precision, I was told to submit my work to N4G and reddit for exposure, opening myself up to the greater gaming audience – in opening myself to a much bigger audience, I was opening myself up to everything that audience had to offer. That audience was often contented by leaving their opinions in the forms of downvotes or upvotes, which were fine by me. Some people follow my blog and some people encouraged me but the greater amount just kept to themselves, for the most part. I don’t need a huge amount of praise in order to get by with my writing. Just knowing that my writing is getting out there, that people are reading it and getting whatever they are from it, is enough for me, in most cases. If I get compliments, that’s great. If not, that’s cool, too.

My last article, though, about my questioning and short-hand self-reflection of Microsoft’s intentions towards their new console drew a lot more criticism than articles past have. I think I didn’t really consider the specific audiences I was posting these articles to and there were a few bones to pick about that article, mostly over the fact that the article didn’t really bring anything new to the table. I’ll admit, there wasn’t the usual amount of insight to the article but I saw nothing inherently wrong with the article and I took a lot of the criticism to heart. I’ve been having a bit of a rough week in my private and professional lives so to come home and sit down to write and see that criticism of something that, while I didn’t think it as thoroughly as I do my other articles, put just as much heart into as the others, it felt kind of crushing.

I’d decided to take a little bit of a break from doing these articles, as a result, but I plan on coming back with a preview of NHL 14, a retrospective review that I’m saving on to surprise you guys, and a full-on review of Tales of Xillia, once I do get to finishing it. I’ve been playing a lot of NHL 13 to fill the hockey season gap and to help me get my center back. I might be well on my way but I feel I might have a long way to go. In any case, I will definitely keep you guys posted, if any of you out there actually read this.

Thanks for your support, criticism, insight, and above all, thank you for giving me a good reason to get all my shit out there. I’m just glad this criticism, while valid, came from people who would rather be relatively eloquent.

Leave a Reply

