[ Blog ] It’s On

Now that the first phase of the beta testing for Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn on my PlayStation 4  is done, I have only one thing to say in response to playing it as thoroughly as I could: I’m going to be pre-ordering the Collector’s Edition, if possible. I’m so completely satisfied with the experience, even in its beta form; it fills in gaps that I felt were left open in other MMORPGs, including Final Fantasy XI, and fixes things that I felt needed fixing. Given, the HUD and some of the GUI things need changing in order to make it more playable, it doesn’t detract from the experience enough to keep me from wanting in. It makes me anxious to try on The Elder Scrolls Online. I’m expecting less of a cinematic and story-driven experience but if it’s anything like Skyrim and Oblivion, before it, were, I would like to get in on that as well.

That being said, if you read my last post, you can probably guess exactly where I’m going with this, now:

Oh, yes. It's time.

Oh, yes. It’s time.

It’s time to do what I’ve been meaning to do for a while; I’d been distracted by other titles. Now that the beta test is over and I’ve been annoyed to tears with Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII, I can return to Tales of Xillia and finish this bitch off. I played it a few times since my last post and I must say that things have gotten bumpy since my last encounter with the game. Before I go too far into where I’m at and why that is, I should probably tell you a bit about my experience with the game so far.

I kind of picked the game up on a lark, really; I’d been an off-and-on fan of Tales since its first incarnation and expected to see much of the same kinds of things from this title: tons of Japanese anime tropes, fan service, Star Ocean-style combat, decent voice acting, and a few out-of-the-blue hair-pulling experiences. Of course, I’d expected a few plot twists, every role playing game has them and, arguably, it’s how creative writing goes, these days, because you can’t have the reader getting bored; you know that having an engrossing story with interesting characters isn’t enough, these days (yeah, I’ve got a bit of a chip on my shoulder on that one but that’s a story for a different day).

For just over half of the game, that’s exactly what I got – while, like I said before, I found the shop system to be frustrating, unnecessary, and very bothersome – it wasn’t until you reached a certain point where things start seeming like a huge plot twist was on its way, it gives you not just one plot twist, but many, one being larger than the one previous. By that point, if it wasn’t for the fact that I was committed to completing this game – which was increased by the fact that, by this point, I thought I was closer to the end of the game than I thought I actually was – I probably would have put it down but I’m glad I stuck it out because now that I’ve finally grasped the concepts needed to succeed well at this game I’ve been able to see the interesting parts of the story that has pushed me past the game’s shortcomings.

Now that I’m returning to the game I find that I have a confidence I didn’t earlier have – I now no longer have an expectation in regards to the length, plot, or difficulty of the game and am fully prepared to take on anything; maybe even moreso than I need to be. I’m ready to rock this joint. Any more of this twisty plot-twist-for-the-sake-of-grabbing-my-attention bullshit and I’m out, though.

And stay down, bitch.

And stay down, bitch.

After this, I’ll probably get back to playing Tales of Graces f and maybe try to tackle Lightning Returns, as retarded as the timing issue is on the latter. I’m out, guys; thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

