[ Mobile Review ] Clash Royale

I’ve been spending a lot more time than usual in front of the good old cell phone, these days: ever since my departure from my last writing gig I’ve been doing a lot of foot work to try and establish myself in the same way I was doing when I was working there but in a more direct fashion. It’s been met with mixed results and so far, it’s going a lot better than I first figured it would. I’ve also been checking my statistics, referrals, and insights a lot more since I’ve been a lot more dedicated to my blog – I’m nearly at 20,000 unique hits all-time, by the way, guys, something I’m super proud of – so my trusty Xperia Z1 has spent a lot of time in my hands and plastered in front of my face. I have a core of games that I come to play that are kind of same-y – AdVenture Capitalist, Clash of Clans, March of Empires, Vega Conflict, Neko Atsume – and I really only play when I’m bored or need to do something with my hands to keep myself from idling. I’d decided to shake things up a little and seeing as Clash Royale, from the guys who made Clash of Clans and Boom Beach, just came out for Android, I thought I’d give it a try.

clash-royale-image-696x363

What to Expect

The premise is actually quite simple: there are two players in a single arena, each player has two archer towers and one King tower, each with its own method of attack and hit points; each player gets a hand of five cards and a steadily climbing meter for elixir. Everything is a throwback to Clash of Clans so regular players of that game will feel right at home with the interface. Your hand will consist of five cards and each card is responsible for a mode of direct attack on the field of play or dropping a single unit or a group of units and the cost of elixir to play them depends on which card you play. How you play these cards and your knowledge of the cards pretty much determines each match.

The entire interface is built to entice you to play as often as your heart desires and does little to try and distract you from that, which is a welcome change. Of course, there’s your rudimentary wait times for certain things and you can only do so many of those things at once and there’s an in-game currency that allows you to bypass all of this but the great thing about this is that all of that is centered around deck building – you can still play, as far as I know, as much as you like. Of course, you’ll stop getting rewards for playing, but if you really enjoy a game like this, it can be kind of refreshing to know you don’t have to stop if you don’t want to.

Clash-Royale-1

The Experience So Far

Personally, I love this game way better than Clash of Clans and I think I may see myself uninstalling that game just to focus on Royale more. This is a good thing, too, because I’ve played Boom Beach, the game Supercell came up with after Clash, and it was not good at allRoyale seems to get back in touch with what its fans like and dials it up to eleven. I love that it’s straightforward, simple, enjoyable, and the fact that it’s following the small trend of forcing a vertical perspective on their game if it’s played on a cell phone: one of the massive problems with games, especially those like VEGA Conflict, is that some games suffer from being forced to view in the landscape perspective and that causes things to look tiny, hard to read, and sometimes provides for a generally difficult experience.

Each match, so far, as I’m learning general strategy in the game, has been all over the place: some have been intense, some have been cheap and crazy, some have been evenly matched; most matches, though, seem to be pretty evenly weighed and I can say that there’s not too much room for error and you have to bring your “A game” to each match in order to win. I like this because I love a good challenge but only if the challenge is fair and not cheaply made that way.

Only real problem that I have is the way you get cards – you get these chests for each win and you’re allowed to gather up to four at a time. What’s contained in the chests are generally determined by the rank of the chest and, as far as I can tell, the rank is random. Each chest requires a certain amount of time to open and… well, shit, I hope you know where I’m going with this. It’s built to aggravate you into spending the in-game currency to build your deck. I’ve gotten a nice staple of cards so far but, even so, there’s a pretty fair-sized hole in my deck that I wish I could just fit a nice card into and I know that even if I spent real world money on this game it would still be a tedious process that would guarantee nothing. This is where the game shows its typical mobile game bullshit poker face and it’s likely where it makes almost all of its money.

See For Yourself!

There’s a pretty dedicated fanbase for this game and there’s one YouTube channel that, while annoying, seems pretty committed to providing you the best tips and tricks for this game so you’ll definitely have fun connecting with like minded fans. If you want to see a pretty good idea of what matches are like, check the above video!


 

Would I recommend this game to my friends? Most definitely. Would I ever spend money on this game? Probably not. Either way, this is a great mobile game and I love it to death. Check it out on the Google Play Store if you own an Android device or on the Apple Store if you own an iDevice!

Leave a Reply

